rest in peace, cory.

As most of you know, on July 13, 2013, we lost a very special person. If any of you are huge Gleeks like me, this one really hit home. I meant to post this sooner, but this week’s been so busy for me. Anyways, here it goes…(I wrote this right after I heard that Cory passed).

So I know everyone’s talking about it. I JUST found out from my sister. I think I am still in shock and I can’t believe it. Whenever I hear of a celebrity passing, I’m sad when I hear the news, but hearing of Cory’s death really shocked me and to be honest, I’m still in denial, hoping that it’s just some terrible rumor. My prayers go out to his family, friends, Lea Michele and the rest of the Glee cast.

Glee is more than just a television show. It taught me that I’m not alone. In high school, I wasn’t the popular kid…no prom queen or captain of the cheerleader squad. I was in band, and we all know what people think of “bandies” right? Well, in my school, the band kids never really got picked on or singled out, but we all knew we were at the bottom of the social hierarchy.

When I heard of this show called Glee, I remember how excited I was to watch it because immediately, I could draw parallels to my own life. I fell in love with the series and I’m still a huge fan, despite the fact that most of the beloved and well-known characters are gone.

I never really had a favorite character on the show because I appreciated every single one of them for different reasons. However, I think the character I can best identify with is Finn…especially during the first part of this last season where he comes back to coach the glee club. Like most college kids, I’m sure, he didn’t know where his life was headed. The Army didn’t work out for him and college didn’t seem like an option to him…so he went back to the place where it all started for him, glee club. During my first couple of years of college, I had the hardest time trying to fit in with everyone. I seemed so different from them and I always found myself going back to the one place I always felt safe, band.

Finn’s always had that attitude like he’s not good enough, that his own fears are holding him back from being able to reach his full potential. He tries to surround himself with good people, people who show him that he’s more than he’s giving himself credit for.

When I heard that Cory admitted himself into rehab earlier this year, I was shocked because I didn’t know he was dealing with these types of problems. But I hoped for the best. Now, to hear that the cause of his death may be due to a drug overdose, it breaks my heart. At 31 years old, his life was cut short. Once again, this shows that life’s precious and we are not guaranteed tomorrow. I will always be a Gleek and I know Cory will be forever missed. This news shattered my heart, but if there’s anything I will take away from this, it will be the good things Cory/Finn and Glee did for me. Glee is more than just a television show. It’s proven to me that the underdogs can rise above the rest and come out better and stronger. Rest in peace, Cory.

Leave a Reply

