made the dean’s list.

So today, I found out I made the Dean’s List at my university. I couldn’t be happier and words can’t express how elated I am. For some reason, I’ve always doubted my academic abilities. I never was a great test taker (I’m still not all that great), I’ve always compared myself to my sister, who got 4.0s all throughout high school, and all of that just lowered my confidence and self-esteem.

However, since I began college, I’ve worked harder than ever. I achieved my first 4.0 last semester and this semester, I am being recognized as a Dean’s Scholar in the College of Humanities & Arts. Wow, this is amazing. To tell you the truth, this made my week…this made up for the last two terrible weeks I’ve had. I am so proud of myself for never giving up and really proving that I AM intelligent and I don’t give myself enough credit sometimes.

The convocation will be held at the end of April and my parents are so excited to attend. Receiving this honor only makes me want to work that much harder. There’s another honor higher than the Dean’s List, which is given to students who achieve a 4.0 for two consecutive semesters. I still have time to try and achieve it.

In high school, I was probably a B average student. In college, I’ve noticed my GPA has actually increased, which I think says a lot. In addition, ever since I was in elementary school, I’ve always had my dad’s help with my homework and studies. When I got to college, I became more independent and didn’t need that help. That being said, I feel this is an extremely special accomplishment because I know I did this all on my own.

But overall, my study habits are improving, I’m becoming more responsible, and I’m really becoming an adult. I realize that going to college is a PRIVILEGE. It’s also a privilege that costs a lot of money that I’m lucky my parents are able to afford. I don’t take any of this for granted. So of course, I’m going to take my studies seriously. Coming into college three years ago, I was overwhelmed. I didn’t know what to expect and I slightly struggled academically as I made the transition. However, it’s not about how you start, it’s how you finish. Sometimes we all need that little push of motivation and inspiration and for me, this was it. This is a great incentive for me to push myself even more to do well academically.

-beautifuldarkmystery

Leave a Reply

