skinny love.

Okay, so I’ve seen this term everywhere. I was scrolling through my dashboard on Tumblr and saw a picture with “skinny love
on it. So finally, I decided to do a Google search for a definition. According to Urban Dictionary, skinny love is when two people love each other but are too shy to admit it but they still show it. I still can’t get over when he said it the other day, “You know I love you.”  Yeah, I know it was in a friendly way and we were joking around, but I loved hearing that.

Anyways, I couldn’t help but relate this to my situation because I feel that this is where I’m headed with this guy, which I don’t really mind. I’d rather hear him say it once (even if it takes a long time) and mean it than to hear it from him a hundred times that it almost loses its meaning. We’re both shy people when it comes to relationships. Neither of us wants to be the first to say something or make a move. Yeah, that’ll complicate things for us, but I’m willing to stick with him and see where things go. Maybe I’ll work up the courage to put myself out there more. Who knows?

I know that the quickest way to disappointment is to allow your happiness to depend on another person, but I can’t help it. He makes me happy. The more I’m around him, the more comfortable I feel being myself…like I don’t have to hide anything and I would hope he feels the same way. Man, I care about this guy A LOT…more than I probably think. I’ve just never met someone I’ve connected with so easily and so fast. It’s like we’re so similar in a lot of ways that it’s almost creepy…and somehow our paths ended up crossing, we met, and became friends. It’s been a while since I’ve had someone in my life I could be myself around. I tend to be more of an introverted person, but he’s slowly breaking down my walls. In fact, we’re slowly approaching that place where I feel I can begin to share more personal stories…you know, more deeper-level surface stuff instead of just talking about friends and school…things you don’t tell acquaintances.

This guy…you all are going to get sick of hearing me talk about him, so I apologize in advance. But to tell you the truth, he’s the first guy I’ve been able to like since my last relationship. It’s probably not that big of a deal to anyone, but to me it kind of is. I’ll try not to talk about it as much, but if something does happen, it’s guaranteed there will be a post about it.

-beautifuldarkmystery

Leave a Reply

