the pressure to be skinny.

I’d be lying to you if I said I’ve never struggled with body image…I think EVERY girl has at least some time in their life. It’s difficult because unfortunately, we live in a society where skinny is considered beautiful. I would consider myself average. I’m not too skinny but I’m not overweight. In fact, according to the BMI, I am exactly where I need to be.

There have been certain things I’ve wanted to change about myself. For the longest time, my legs bothered me. I always wished they were skinnier. Yes, I was one of those girls who wanted the gap between her legs. I was first self-conscious about my legs when I was a freshman in high school. It bothered me that all of my friends had stick-thin legs and I wanted mine to look like that as well. Today, I’ve become more accepting about my legs. I still want them a little skinnier, but I’m not going to extremes to achieve it.

Another thing I’ve hated is my stomach. I’ve always wanted a super flat stomach. To this day, I am still self-conscious about wearing a bathing suit around other people, so I rarely go swimming when I’m invited. It’s gotten pretty bad the older I’ve gotten. When I was younger I didn’t care about any of this stuff. But now, I rarely go in the pool. I tend to wear baggy shirts or loosely-fitted tops to cover my stomach. I can’t wear anything that’s skin tight. It makes me feel uncomfortable.

I’ve never gone to super extremes to try and be skinny. One thing I did do was cut soda completely out of my diet and that actually worked. By not drinking soda, I lost a good 5-7 pounds. Plus it’s just better for your health anyway…soda has so much artificial sugar and the caffeine is bad for you (in large amounts). I haven’t had soda for over two years now.

Once the weather is nice again, I want to start walking/exercising. I usually do this around springtime. I’ll walk around my neighborhood or climb hills to work my leg muscles. I LOVE doing this because I enjoy the time to myself, and I’m getting in a decent workout at the same time.

I think there will always be a part of me that remains self-conscious about my weight. Like I said, I will never go to extremes to get the result I want, but as a girl, it’s hard living in a society where you’re judged by the way you look. I really am working on trying to accept myself for who I am, but I’ve still got a ways to go. But like I said, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve found that I HAVE become more accepting of myself and the way I look. But it doesn’t hurt to want to strive to be a little healthier…just as long as it’s safe.

-beautifuldarkmystery

How do you view yourself in terms of body image and how have they changed over the years? Has it gotten better or worse?

2 thoughts on “the pressure to be skinny.

  1. Hey! Firsly have to say absolutely LOVE your blog and your writing!

    I’m instantly drawn to this sadly as I have suffered with low self esteem most of my life and I’m still quite young as it is also being in the gymnastics and dancing world there was always pressure on us to look a certain way and to be at the exact weight that we would be our best. Then after I quit, one reason being the coaches constantly placing importance on our weight I went into running and thought it was over with the weight issues, but sadly it is just as alive if not more so, I have come across so many with some sort of eating disorder that it’s hard not to get trapped into it and you almost think it’s the ‘right’ thing to do. Also the coaches also place importance on being at a light weight in distance running, to the point that subconsciously they are encouraging them, which sucks, they really need to learn to realise that they really effect us in what they say, even the small comments about our weight.

    Wow ok could go on, but I will stop there… think I kinda went off there, opps yes I ramble a lot! Hope you have an awesome week and I can’t wait to reading more of your blog! 🙂

    • beautifuldarkmystery says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you like it. And thank you for sharing your story. It really is unfortunate that we live in the society that we do…one that places such an emphasis on how we look. I can only imagine what that must have felt like being in dance and gymnastics…and then go to running only to hear the same thing. But you’re right, people don’t realize how they come off with the small comments…or how much it affects us.

      Again, thank you so much for stopping by. I’ll be posting more! (probably not as frequent because I start school this week). But don’t be a stranger! 😀

      -beautifuldarkmystery

Leave a Reply

