music will always be a part of my life.

I played the flute for nine years, and in those nine years, I fell in love with music. Little did I know that when I first picked up that instrument that I would embark on this wonderful journey. There are times I find myself missing it and I wish I could just go back to those days. Now that I’m in college, I’m already having enough trouble getting into the classes I need and there’s just simply no time for it anymore.

My parents never forced music to be a part of my life. It was something I wanted to do on my own. I guess you can say part of it may come from genes because my mom used to sing and play guitar, and my dad knew how to play piano and guitar. So music runs in our family.

To be honest, I don’t know what made me choose the flute. When it came time to sign up for band class and we had to select which instrument we wanted to play, I picked flute without any hesitation, and I stuck with it for the rest of my time in band classes. I can barely remember what it was like picking up that instrument and attempting to play it for the first time. Obviously, I was awful at the time, but I remember the day I bought my flute at the music store. Looking at this shiny piece of metal with buttons all over it. There’s no doubt it was intimidating, but I accepted the challenge. In no time, I was playing basic songs.

My passion for music was always there, otherwise I wouldn’t have stayed with it, but when I got to high school, that’s when it really became a huge part of my life. By my senior year I was enrolled in three band classes and it was so much fun. I was also involved in the marching band at my high school, an experience I will truly never forget for as long as I live.

Flash forward to my very last band concert. For me, it was very bittersweet. I knew that this was the end of my journey and that after this, I would no longer perform and be in a band class anymore. As weird as it sounds, being in band is like being on a sports team. We all have to learn to work together…learn to blend together and not overpower the other sections. So I was really sad when that last concert finally came. During intermission, me and three other senior flute players decided we wanted to play Canon in D during intermission. As I stood there looking into the audience, I stopped for a moment to take it all in. I loved performing and it was one of the things about music I would miss the most.

Another thing I will miss about band is all of the friends I made. Pretty much all of my high school friends were also in band with me and we had that in common. Though I’ve grown apart from most of those people, I’ll never forget the memories we created. Because band is generally looked down upon at our school (yes, there was the band geek stereotype at our school), we all kind of stuck together and didn’t really care what anyone else thought. We were all in this because music is what we loved.

Not too long ago, one of my good friends decided to have a get-together over winter break for the band kids who’ve graduated within the last five years or so. I’ll never forget what that felt like because I hadn’t seen more than half of those people since I was a freshman in high school. Now, they’ve graduated college or getting married. It’s unbelievable how quickly time flies. But what amazes me is that though we’ve all gone our separate ways…gone to different schools and started on the paths to our future, there’s one thing that will always bring us together and that’s music. It has that sort of power. Our band director even went and he kept saying how we should all do this again because it was just one huge walk down memory lane. It was awesome. The turnout was excellent, there were about 50 people that showed up, graduates ranging from class of ’07 to class of ’12.

I miss music so much. I will always be a band geek at heart and I’m glad I have pictures and video footage from those days to constantly remind me of how much fun I had. Music was my second life. Because I was so heavily involved with it, it became a huge part of my life. Every once in a while, I’ll put my flute together and start playing. It may not be as frequently, but I’ve still got it…and when I start playing, I’m reminded of how much I loved music and why I started in the first place.

2 thoughts on “music will always be a part of my life.

  1. Ying Feels Yang says:

    beautiful dark mystery unveils the secret talent!

Leave a Reply

