holding hands.

Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve noticed this with pretty much every couple I see around school. The guy and girl will be holding hands, but very often, I see the guy’s hand almost just dangling, while the girl is holding on. Personally, I LOVE it when a guy holds hands back because to me that says, “I am so happy to be with you and I don’t want to let you go.” It’s very rare that I actually see the two people holding hands, but maybe I’m just weird for observing such a thing?

When my ex and I were going out, it took him a while before he was able to hold my hand without being scared and when he did, I was the happiest girl in the world. He wasn’t so hesitant after that time obviously and it was nice. If we were at a movie, he would sometimes massage my fingers as he held my hand. If we were walking or standing, he’d just reach for my hand and never let go.

There’s something about holding hands that just gets me and I don’t know what it is. Not only does it mean that he wants me, but I also feel a sense of security. I also love when it happens out of nowhere. For example, I was walking with my friend (again, we’ll call him Tom…and this is the same Tom from the other posts I mention him in). We were walking next to each other and I freed up the hand that was next to him on purpose because I hoped he would hold my hand. Sure enough, as we were walking, he gently grabs my hand and we look at each other and just smile. I hate to sound all cheesy and stuff but it just felt right…like his hand fit perfectly in mine. I don’t know how else to describe it.

Holding hands is also a sign of status…as we walked hand-in-hand across campus, people would know we were together because we were linked together. I’m usually not all into PDA and stuff like that, but I must admit, it was nice for a change. What was even cuter was about a week later, we were texting and he randomly brought up that night. He said he was just thinking about when he held my hand…how nervous he was before and how happy he was after. I just thought that was the cutest thing ever.

I love when a guy is not afraid to hold a girl’s hand in public. That’s a huge thing for me. If a guy asks me to be his girlfriend, I want him to be proud that I’m that girl…not feel embarrassed. I want him to do it because he wants to and that he’s happy we’re together. I’m not saying it has to be PDA to the max, but it means a lot for girls, especially me. But that’s just my personal opinion.

Even though it’s a pretty simple gesture, it’s still pretty powerful. For me, it will always be one of the little things I love. I think I love it because of its simplicity, but it still has meaning. I can’t wait for my next relationship because I want those butterflies again. Holding hands…a simple, nonverbal way of letting everyone know you two are together.

-beautifuldarkmystery

Leave a Reply

