the perks of being a wallflower (book).

the perks of being a wallflower cover

I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while. I also wanted to see the movie but I never did. 😦 Anyways, back to the book. I ordered it on Amazon and the day it came, I began reading it. I don’t read very often and I’m actually trying to get back in the habit of doing so, but I could NOT put this book down. It was a very easy read and the characters were so relatable. If I added the number of hours it took me to read it, I would have finished the book in less than a day.

I am an introvert, so I found Charlie to be a pretty relatable character, but I always noticed that something was a little off with him. It wasn’t until later in the book when I found out why he is the way he is. I won’t give away spoilers for those who haven’t read the book and want to. Anyways, the book is written in a series of letters to a “friend” (being us, the readers) and takes place in the 90s, the period before communication changed with the digital world.

But basically, there’s nothing better than seeing the underdogs come out on top. Charlie, Sam, and Patrick are three characters that many people can identify with. The book basically takes you back to your high school days and it pretty much covers every topic…drugs, sex, relationships, sexuality, friends, school, etc. You also get a look into Charlie’s home life…how he interacts with his parents, his brother, and sister.

I’ve never read a book as beautiful and inspiring as this one. Stephen Chbosky did an amazing job writing this. He also directed the movie, so I can only imagine that the film is just as great as the book. I recommend this book for adolescents because of the content, but I think everyone should read it at some point in their lives. This book brought me back to my high school days and I found myself reminiscing, especially during the part about graduation. So read this book, you’ll be glad you did. 🙂

-beautifuldarkmystery

Leave a Reply

