my take on relationships.

When it comes to relationships, I guess you could call me inexperienced. I’ve been single for pretty much all of my adolescent years so to have someone I call my boyfriend right now, would feel strange. For the longest time, I thought it was weird and that I wasn’t normal having not dated many guys in high school. Part of the reason why I thought this area of my life was so difficult was because of my personality. I’m not very outgoing. In fact, I’m the exact opposite. For anyone who’s an introvert…you may be able to relate. In high school, I had my group of friends, but when it came to dating, that was something I always wanted but stayed away from simply because I just didn’t know what I was doing. But just because I didn’t date, it doesn’t mean I didn’t think about it. I was always one of those girls who hoped for this guy to sweep me off my feet and showed me he cared. But this was high school…who was I kidding?

Now that I’m in college, I’m more emotionally mature than I was back then. I’ve come to realize that it doesn’t matter how many boyfriends I have…whether it’s zero or ten. It’s something I’m not so insecure about anymore and honestly, I could care less if people judge me for it. This is MY life and it SHOULD be different from everyone else. In fact, I’d rather wait for someone great to come along than go through so many heartbreaks. That’s not to say that I will never experience it. In fact I have. I had one relationship in high school, but I will go into more detail about that in another post. All it took was that one time for me to realize that in every relationship I go through, pain is inevitable.

But here’s the point I’m trying to make. For those of you who think you’re this freak just because you haven’t found someone yet…stop thinking like that. This is YOUR life. Who knows, tomorrow someone great may just walk into your life and make you realize that all this waiting was worth it. But don’t beat yourself up over it. When the time is right, it will happen. I believe things happen for a reason. Whether you believe in that philosophy or not, waiting is part of life. Things aren’t always supposed to work in our favor. If it did, then it would be too easy. But don’t give up just yet. Stay hopeful and know that there are other people experiencing the same thoughts and feelings as you. Your time will come, just be patient.

– beautifuldarkmystery

2 thoughts on “my take on relationships.

  1. Ying Feels Yang says:

    you are not beautifuldarkmystery but beautifulbrightmystery. and everytime you use “introvert” i feel now you will explain me and it does happen. haha. enjoying your posts.

    • beautifuldarkmystery says:

      Haha well thanks. Being an introvert is hard sometimes, but I wanted to make this blog in the hopes that people like me will be able to relate to my stories and experiences and know they’re not alone. Plus I wanted to get back into writing again…help me figure out things about myself.

      -beautifuldarkmystery

Leave a Reply

