being an artificial redhead.

So it’s late at night and I feel like writing again. I want to talk about my red hair. No, I am not a natural redhead. My natural hair color is a dark brown, but I dye it a burgundy red and I am absolutely in love with the color. I remember the first time I dyed my hair red…I was a freshman in high school. I don’t know what made me pick the color. Perhaps I just wanted change and I kind of wanted it to be drastic/noticeable. Since then, I’ve just fell in love with the color, although it is difficult to manage.

Red is such a pronounced color. When it washes out, it turns orange if you don’t keep touching it up (that includes roots). During my senior year, my mom “made” me dye my hair black for prom. That was a terrible mistake because when I tried to dye it red after, it was a disaster. Obviously, it’s difficult to put a lighter color over a darker color, especially black. My hair would do this weird thing where the top of my head would take the red color and it would sort of do this ombre effect to black towards the tips. My mom freaked out and thought she messed up. She didn’t want me going to school like that, but I actually ended up getting so many compliments on it that it didn’t really matter.

As of last year, I FINALLY got my hair back to the shade of red I desire. I am NEVER going to dye my hair black again. Not only have I got special hair dye for it, I’ve also watched YouTube tutorials on how to manage red hair. I didn’t even know how “intense” the process was. I learned that it’s important to use a lot of conditioner because hair naturally gets damaged from the chemicals in the dye. I’ve learned that it’s best to wash dyed hair in cold water because it doesn’t pull out the color as much as warm/hot water does. Most importantly, I have to dye my hair every five weeks so it won’t turn orange. The things I put myself through just to have red hair. But it’s all worth it, so I can’t complain.

I think it’s kind of ironic that I choose such a bold color that contrasts so much from my personality. I consider myself quite conservative and reserved, but when people see my hair, it’s the first thing they compliment. My mom is always asking me why I like this color so much because it’s so bright and not as natural, but I guess this is my way of expressing my own style. My red hair is an identifier and it’s a part of me now. Plus everyone loves a redhead, right?

Bleach is one thing I’ve stayed away from. I don’t think I’ll ever bleach my hair because that scares me. The dye I use doesn’t have bleach, but works really well on dark hair and I’m still satisfied with the results. I should give my hair a little break because I don’t want to damage it too much. But I love this color and I’m beginning to notice that it’s becoming a more popular color. In high school, I was always known as the one with the red hair, but now my friends are starting to dye their hair red and I don’t feel as unique anymore. šŸ˜¦ Oh well haha. Plus, the guy I like right now has a thing for redheads, so….another incentive to keep the color. šŸ˜‰

– beautifuldarkmystery

Do any of you dye your hair red or any other color? Any outrageous colors? I want to know. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

